Itty bitty baby pants!

Standard

Another friend of mine is welcoming her first baby this August. Julie and I met through my friend Meagan. I was so lucky to spend one of my coop terms in undergrad in Guelph, because I lived with them. To this day, I have been known to say, “I wish we were next door neighbours so life would be like it was when we lived together.” Honestly, these girls, the kind of friend every woman deserves. I don’t know what I’d do without them by my side.

We are silly together. These gals make me laugh. A lot.

IMG_0861

We make a mean tray of nachos and we’re the self-proclaimed nacho champs. Meagan is a bit nacho bossy, but it works in our favour 😉

IMG_1985

They are some of my biggest supporters – and are always by my side.

IMG_1998

I love these girls. The only thing that sucks about being friends with them is that I can’t get enough of them.

In August, the third installation of the next generation will arrive. Madeleine, Abby, and another sweet little girl will be making mischief together.

IMG_2185We celebrated mama-to-be Jules this past weekend. In preparation of her shower, I decided to make Rae Hoekstra’s Basic Newborn Baby Pant, a free online tutorial. These are a great project for a new sewer, and I whipped them up in an evening. Maddy even had a hand in it, picking out the fabric.

We stood in an aisle at Len’s Mill, and I asked Maddy, “What fabric should we use to make the baby some pants?” And she pointed and exclaimed, “Monkey!” Maddy has also requested her own monkey outfit. I’m so glad I let Maddy pick the fabric, because I just adore the final product.

In just a few months we’ll have another little one that will fit into these itty bitty baby pants. I am so excited for her arrival!

IMG_2184

3 responses »

    • Oh, I’m so excited you’re going to try these! The general rule for elastic in waistbands is size of waist plus an inch (you’ll cross it over an inch to sew it in place). I used the recommendation in the tutorial for newborns of 13″ for these pants. Does that make sense?

  1. Pingback: Bright baby pants with pockets | sewrite

Leave a Reply

