A whole new world

Standard

Since Maddy’s diagnosis we’ve been all kinds of busy over here making appointments, faxing reports, and doing intakes. A whole new world of opportunities has opened up with those three little words: autism spectrum disorder.

IMG_2180We had a multi-disciplinary meeting yesterday at Maddy’s daycare – an hour for everyone to come together and get on the same page. It was an overwhelmingly positive experience. We are so blessed to have an amazing support team behind us, who are cheering Maddy on every step of the way.

I was so humbled to hear Maddy’s daycare very openly and honestly tell us that they were confused, and just didn’t see it – without pushing any sort of agenda. All they wanted was to understand. It didn’t take long before they did. Our support team was able to explain in a much more articulate manner than I would have been able to. At the end of the meeting they told me, they understood, and their new understanding allowed them to see it.

I picked Maddy up today at my usual time. When I arrived, one of Maddy’s teachers started by sharing with me some of Maddy’s sensory quirks she had not really noticed before. Our meeting had given her a new lens and she was picking up on cues she had previously missed.

She went on to tell me that at one point in the day, Maddy was starting to become agitated (or, for those of you who are familiar with the phrase, her engine was running too fast). There were extra people around, creating a lot of noise and chaos in the room. Maddy’s teacher decided to try something we had talked about yesterday – deep pressure. She asked Madeleine if she’d like some squeezes (this is what we call them at home). Maddy said yes and proceeded to show her teacher all the places on her body she wanted squeezes (I know – amazing!). With tears in her eyes, the teacher said to me,

“For the first time, Maddy looked at me like I finally understood her.”

My heart just about burst into a million little happy pieces. We might be taking baby steps, but we are moving leaps and bounds.

2 responses »

  1. I always say, “Nothing’s different, only your perspective… And that makes all the difference!” When you aren’t hung up on the “label” and are just looking at your kid and how you can help her, nothing is that bad! It is so eye opening for everyone! I’m glad the people around you get it!

Leave a Reply

