Ruffle bum romper

Standard

One of my longest friends, Meagan is having her first baby in a month-ish. We became friends a long time ago when we were 4 and lived on the same street. SCAN0015

I’m so lucky to still call Meagan one of my best friends. I was honoured and blessed to be a part of her wedding a couple of years ago, and now I am beyond excited to meet her little one. Meagan and her hubby are going to be amazing parents.

I made her soon-to-be-here baby girl two little outfits – here’s the first:

IMG_2129

IMG_2130

I bought this pattern from ‘You Can Make This’. I found the pattern a bit confusing, but I was able to make my way through it with a seam ripper and some patience.

I learned two new things in the process of making this romper. First, I made my first buttonholes!! Thank you to Amber Price – her ‘Learn to Sew’ series gave me the courage to give them a try. If you want to try buttonholes, she has a great lesson here.

IMG_2128

It took some time, and a lot of test buttonholes, but eventually I got it! For the longest time I didn’t realize I had to “reset” my machine by moving my dial off of the buttonhole setting and back between buttonholes. Once I figured that out, I was set. I’m so happy that I no longer have to avoid patterns with buttonholes now!

The other first for me was inserting snaps into a pattern. This is key for things like rompers, so the whole outfit doesn’t have to come off when changing the baby’s bum. I have been avoiding patterns that had snaps in them, but it really wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. I tried a couple of test snaps on some scrap fabric, and then put them into the pattern. They’re not exactly spaced evenly, but that gives it a bit of charm, no?

IMG_2127

I think this pattern is beginner-intermediate. Definitely doable for a newer sewer, but it might give you a couple of headaches along the way.

For the lack of a live model, I give you the ruffle bum romper on a model that can’t refuse:

IMG_2125

Hope you all enjoy the last bit of the weekend!

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Simple skirt | sewrite

  2. Pingback: Itty bitty baby pants! | sewrite

  3. Pingback: sewrite

  4. Pingback: Baby romper love | sewrite

Leave a Reply

