Figure 8 velveteen scarf

Standard

Remember when I had a mild obsession with velveteen?

Well, I searched high and low and couldn’t find any nice velveteen prints in any of our local stores. I tried to put velveteen out of my head, but the more I tried not to think about it, the more I was determined to find some. After a fairly lengthy search, I finally gave in to the shipping costs and ordered some online.

I was so excited when it arrived – and I love the fabric even more than I did when I saw it online. It is just gorgeous! It has been sitting neatly in a pile in my disastrous sewing space (we’re making big changes turning our loft into a sensory play room and my sewing area is temporarily torn apart). After a particularly bad day, Eric moved some tables upstairs, put Maddy to bed on a night that I was supposed to do bedtime routine, and told me to sew.

I pulled out the velveteen fabric and just held it in my hands for a few minutes. I was feeling really tired, and I wasn’t sure if I wanted to sew. I started dreaming of my finished velveteen scarf, and that’s all it took to get me going.

gorgeous fabric

The scarf is just as dreamy as I imagined – it sits beautifully, it is soft and warm, and the perfect accessory to a fall or winter outfit. If you’re like me and love wearing scarves in cooler weather, I highly recommend making yourself one of these.

IMG_1972

There is a free online tutorial for this figure 8 scarf by Anna Maria Horner. It’s a beautiful and easy project – a great project for beginner sewers. I finished my scarf in a couple of hours, with a couple minor bumps in the road. I had to use my seam ripper once when I accidentally caught my voile in a “sew only the velveteen” step.

There is one slightly annoying part to the pattern – the final step is hand sewing. The tutorial provides three very good reasons for why, and although more time-consuming than machine stitching, it is honestly not that bad. The pattern calls for a blind stitch, and if you’ve never done one, you can learn how in this video.

I’m so happy with my scarf, and I’m glad I have a few months left to enjoy it.

IMG_1968

Leave a Reply

