Sensory holiday survival kit

Standard

We’re in the midst of preparing for a few days away to celebrate Christmas with our family. As I mentioned before, I’m feeling a bit anxious about the holidays as change in routine is hard on Maddy (cry-until-I-puke-several-times-a-day kind of hard sometimes). Transitions are very tough for her. We’re learning how to support Maddy through transitions, but mama and dada still have a lot to learn, so we’re not quite there yet.

I decided to prepare a sensory holiday survival kit to try to help us through the next week.

Sensory survival kit

Maddy’s survival kit has:

Mama’s survival kit:

mama's survival kit

  • Chocolate
  • Booze

Do you have anything you always pack in your holiday survival kit?

Wishing you all the happiest of holidays! See you in 2013!!

11 responses »

  1. YOU ROCK! Visual timers, visual schedules, and social stories (when she’s older) have helped us immensely. I don’t even recognize some of the other stuff. The research you’ve done and the resources that you’ve found for your child AMAZE me. You are awesome, awesome, awesome – and deserve every ounce of alcohol.

  2. Pingback: It’s a Festivus miracle! « sewrite

    • She is – as long as it’s on her own terms. I really want to get her something like this, but I’m not sure she’ll take to it before she can effectively communicate when she wants it. She’s just started being able to say yes and no to me when I do joint compressions on her… so we’re on our way. Definitely going to save this link though as I think something like this is going to be part of our future! Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

