It “seamed” so easy: How not to do a french seam

Standard

What is a french seam? It’s a seam made up of two seams. It hides the raw edges in a fold, making a very neat finished product. It’s great for making burrito pillowcases… unless you don’t do it properly.

How not to do a french seam? Well, like this of course:

See all of those raw edges? They’re supposed to be hidden. Whoops.

Now, I bet you’re wondering how you should do a french seam. Here are the basic steps:

  1. Pin your two pieces to be joined with their wrong sides together. Sew together using a straight stitch.
  2. Trim the seam allowances.
  3. Open the fabric layers and press the seam allowances to one side. Bring the right sides of the fabric together and fold the fabric along the seam.
  4. Press and sew.

I still have no idea what exactly I did wrong in my first french seam. I can’t seam (okay, I know, enough already) to wrap my brain around it. That means I can’t give you a really good not-to tip. But, I can wish you good luck on what everyone says is an easy technique. Don’t worry, it probably is easy. I’m just really good at making silly mistakes. Some might say too good.

Leave a Reply

