Simple newborn hat

Standard

A good friend of mine is expecting her first little bean next March. I was so beyond excited when I heard the news. Not only am I excited about her growing family, I am so excited that I felt excited for her. For awhile now every time I heard someone was pregnant, all I could think was about how downhill their quality of life could go if they ended up with a little one like Maddy (despite her sweetness, you all know what I’m talking about). I know I’m not the first mama to have such a tough time with her babe, so sadly, I know I won’t be the last. But, I’m finally beginning to get back the hopefulness and optimism I thought I had lost.

I’ll happily attribute the reclaiming of my positivity to the wonderful news of a new baby in my circle of friends. I know my friend is going to be an incredible mama and I cannot wait to meet her little squid!

I was so excited, that I picked up my knitting needles (a rarity for me in the hot summer months). I have a backlog of things I want to knit in the fall, but I squeezed this little guy in for obvious reasons.

You can find the pattern here. You’ll see that the final product is a bit different from the pattern. I’ve never tried to knit an I-cord, and despite watching a couple of Youtube videos, I made a bit of a mess of it. I decided to just close her up and ship her off. I figure it’ll still keep baby’s head warm, and that’s mostly what counts.

There you have it – the surprise summer knit!

Leave a Reply

