Maddy’s luau outfit

Standard

As you know, we recently celebrated Madeleine’s first birthday with a backyard luau.

I’m going to quickly share how I made Maddy’s birthday outfit. The grass skirt was super easy. I bought one from Dollarama, measured a smaller size, cut out a portion of it, and sewed it back together.

Measuring the size with Maddy’s shorts

I then appliquéd a onesie for Maddy.

I used a glass to get a perfect circle

And, the finished product:

If I were to do this again, I would make the straps of the coconut bra a bit wider. It was tough to keep them in a straight line as the heat and bond didn’t stick too well with such a small piece, and the fabric tore a bit as I was sewing.

On both sides.

It was small, so it wasn’t noticeable once it was on her. I loved our matching luau outfits!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

