Mothers make the world go ’round

Standard

I feel so happy and blessed to be celebrating my very first Mother’s Day. I know I have expressed the sadness, frustration, and anger I have often felt in these last almost-11-months, but today, I couldn’t be happier.

I recently saw this youtube video, a song a to-be-daddy wrote about his unborn child. It’s just beautiful, and fitting for a day like today:

To Madeleine, thank you for making me a mommy. I love your sweet smile, your soft giggles, and your love for Loki. I love how you sit with your ankles crossed. I love that you have your daddy’s ears, and his long eyelashes. I love that you slyly smile at me and shake your head no as you head straight for Loki’s water bowl, or the recycling bin. I love that when you sign ‘more’ and we give you more, you smile and clap for yourself because you are so proud that we understood. I love how you scrunch your little nose up and sniff loudly, and then giggle when we do it back to you. I love that your new thing is to try to pass things from one hand to the other behind your back…. and how persistent you are even though you’ve never successfully done it. I love that when I walk into a room you smile and giggle and start bouncing up and down with excitement. I love your chubby legs and bright eyes. I love you.

I can’t say your birth was an awe-inspiring moment. Frankly, I was terrified. But, the moment I saw you I started to cry. You were the most perfect little being I had ever laid my eyes on.

Our first family photo

We’ve had our challenges, but being your mommy is the most amazing experience I’ve ever had. Thank you for showing me what I’m made of. Thank you for teaching mommy and daddy the true meanings of unconditional love, patience, and strength. You have taught us so much in your short little life.

7 days old

Now, although this is my first Mother’s Day I am so lucky that I have been able to celebrate this day with my mom for 29 years, and my mum for 5 years.

Mom & Mum

To my mom, thank you for your unconditional love. You have always been there for me, whether it be after a tough day at school as a child, or a tough day as a mom. You have taught me how to love and how to be loved. Most of all, you have taught me how to be a mom. I can only hope that I can do half as good a job as you have done.

To my mum, thank you for welcoming me into your life as if I had always been there. I can feel your love and support in all the ways you have helped me over the past 5 years. I know that I can count on you during the toughest times. You raised who I think is the most perfect man around, and have given Madeleine an amazing daddy. I couldn’t have asked for a better Mum.

To all the other new and experienced mom’s out there – thanks for making the world go ’round.

Finally, to all of the expecting mommy’s, I leave you with this video:

2 responses »

  1. awww … what a fantastic mother’s day post! Happy first Mother’s Day to you and Happy Mother’s Day to all of the other mothers out there!

    I’m still waiting on a video of Maddy sniffing – she makes me laugh when she does that one!

  2. Such a wonderful tribute! I have tears rolling down my cheeks as I type this. Thanks for being who you are. I love you!

Leave a Reply

