The $100 sewing mistake

Standard

I made the most expensive (and perhaps least smart) sewing mistake I’ve ever made before. Drum roll please.

Last night I was cutting fabric for three small projects I’m working on.

Mistake number one: Cutting the fabric on my lap

Mistake number two: Simultaneously cutting the lululemons I was wearing

I have a few choice words I’d like to share right now… but I’ll keep those to myself. Let this be a lesson to all those who like their pants: Cut your fabric on a table, not your lap.

There’s not much else to say, except that thankfully they were my oldest pair and were slightly too big for me anyways (but they also happened to be my favourite pair). Today I will pray to the lululemon Gods that one day I might own another beautiful pair of simple black lulus.

9 responses »

  1. oh no Ash!! I gasped in horror while reading this. That is the worst mistake I can imagine… I think I’d be in tears if I cut my oldest and yet favourite pair (of also simple black lulus). They’re 7 years old and I’ve had to resew the seams several times but love them so much I can’t get rid of them. Can’t imagine cutting through them… I am mourning your loss.

  2. That sucks! Are they a pair that are always too big or just too big right now? Where did you cut them? (I’m wondering if you can turn them into capris or shorts?)

    • Always a bit big, but extra big right now… but I still wear them more than the ones that fit properly. Nope, upper thigh, baby. I think I’ll still wear them at home 🙂

  3. P.S. You’re learning to sew… why don’t ya just fix ’em?? ;P And Jérôme just said “at least she didn’t cut her leg”. To which I responded, “I’d rather cut my leg than a pair of lulus”.

  4. Aww that’s so sad! Is praying to the lulu gods a subliminal message that Eric should buy you a new pair? haha I love my lulus too!

  5. Pingback: It “seamed” so easy: How not to do a french seam « sewrite

Leave a Reply

